Productive Saturday

Today I redid a lot of things on the character drawing that we were assigned to make into a solid piece. Watching tutorials during meals sure has paid off. I’ve used several different techniques to improve my character. For example, I tried flipping my drawing horizontally to spot weaknesses in construction. It helped me a great deal! I have also watched a tutorial on how fabric tends to wrinkle. My attempt is surely far from perfect, but it’s my first try and it’s better than nothing. I also removed the scarf from his face to make my character do a bad ass facial expression. I’m looking forward to working on it some more.

Image

I also attempted to do a little speed painting of a basic landscape, just to get a feel on drawing the reflection from the sun and the texture of water. I didn’t put much effort on making everything clean and neat, I just wanted to get a quick feel of it. I did all of it in layer just to try it out, and got of course problems later when I wanted to tweak things in the background. I’ll work in basic layers next time. I’m quickly realizing how much lighting affects the mood of drawings.

Image

Leave a comment